About US

General Info


Established in 1988, the Sweetwater Camera Club, Inc. is a Douglasville, Georgia-based group of photo enthusiasts. We are a rapidly growing family-friendly camera club west of Atlanta in Douglas County, Georgia.  Our members are comprised of photography enthusiasts—novice through advanced.  Sweetwater Camera Club, Inc. is an excellent forum for expanding your vision as a photographer, learning new techniques and sharing your work.  We host a wide variety of interesting, motivating, and educational presentations, competitions, critiques, and exhibits throughout the year.

Join us as our guest to see for yourself how this process can inspire and assist you. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. Bring your friends!

Mission Statement:
The purpose of the Sweetwater Camera Club, Inc. is to share and promote the art and science of photography in a variety of styles and formats and to provide a forum for sharing their photos with others for the visual education, enjoyment and recreation as individuals, club members, and as a part of the community.

The Sweetwater Camera Club, Inc. is an unpaid volunteer organization. We appreciate the help, resources, and many contributions from our volunteers. If you would like to serve the club, please let one of the officers know. The Sweetwater Camera Club Vice President, makes volunteer assignments where needed.

Social Media – Facebook: A Private Group Facebook is available for  all paid members. Only the fb group members can see posts. Paid club members must request to join.
Search Facebook: Sweetwater Camera Club – Official Club Site

Members of:

  • North Georgia Camera Club Council  (NG3C) 2007 – 2020 www.northgeorgiacameraclubcouncil.org
  • Douglas County Chamber of Commerce – 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
  • Cultural Arts Council Satellite of Douglasville/Douglas County, Georgia – 2015 – 2020

2020 Officers:

Janet Newton

The President presides at all meetings, administers the affairs of the club, and coordinates the activities of the Board of Directors.

Stella Spyrou
Vice President

The Vice President assists the chairmen of all the committees as needed and maintains an inventory of club property.

Pam Steinbruck
The Treasurer keeps accurate account of receipts and disbursements, is the custodian of all funds, and pays bills and expenditures.
Dawn Horrex

The Secretary keeps an accurate record of the actions of the Board of Directors and the club’s meetings and maintains membership records, and records competition results.

2020 Committee Members:

Hospitality CommitteeDiane Yancey, Deborah Wofford, Crystal Berry, Dawn Horrex, Marilynn Nunn
Communications / PublicationsDirector of Publications-Stella Spyrou, Cathy Boemanns, Donna Bowlick, Dawn Horrex, Janet Newton
ExhibitsTawni Blamble, Stella Spyrou, Janet Newton
Cultural Arts Council LiaisonJanet Newton
Technology FacilitatorJames Bender, Nick Kahrs
One-on-One MentorGreg Knobloch
Competition CommitteeGary Bowlick, Lorie Duke, Ted Boemanns, Dawn Horrex, Pam Steinbruck, James Bender